My Photography and Travel Blog

Mother’s Day Glamour photo shoot (may not be a work safe image)


Happy Mother’s Day!
I am pleased to introduce Kristeen to everyone, and yes, she is a mom! This photoshoot was a Mother’s Day present ( I rarely shoot “pro-bono” anymore). She wanted something edgy and nostalgic, and this is one (of many!) that we came up with. I will be posting some of the other images on my other blog thread later next week. I was so happy to be able to get her photoshoot finished and out to her by Mother’s Day, I hope all of you will show some love and also, be inspired to get out there! This woman had no idea she could look “like this” and was completely thrilled with the results of our work.

Model/ subject: Kristeena
Location: Little River, SC, USA
Equipment used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR lens, Nikon SB900 flash, shoot through umbrella, soft silver 42″ reflector.

15 responses

  1. What a great image. Really powerful and well shot. I hope this made her day

    May 13, 2012 at 4:06 pm

    • Thanks Chris! From what I can gather, the entire shoot made her day! lolol…I do love it when my work can bring such joy and happiness to someone….at the end of the day, about 18 images were absolutely “perfect” for her. Thank you so much for your kind words on my work and the image. Truly appreciated.

      May 13, 2012 at 4:10 pm

      • It would be easy for an image like this to be badly done and become tasteless, you have created a beautiful and empowering image.

        May 13, 2012 at 4:14 pm

  2. Reblogged this on Photography .

    May 13, 2012 at 4:07 pm

  3. Beautiful shot! Did you use any HDR effects? The car kind of gave me that feel though it could be just brilliant lighting!:)

    Very nicely done and I’m sure she was pleased as there’s a little ego boost for a mom who can sometimes feel as though she’s lost her full identity to the role of being a mother.

    May 13, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    • Thank you! And yes, I used HDR ONLY in the car grill, headlights, and very softly in the far top and back of the tent. It is an honor that this image gave you a hint, and was not obviously overbearing as HDR. I do and try and use every single tool available to bring out and compliment the beauty of my subjects, HDR, lighting, color, and contrast are but only a couple of them.

      May 13, 2012 at 5:13 pm

      • I think your HDR usage was very much to your advantage in this shot. It was used judiciously and it brought out your main subject even more. All of your editing techniques are very well done. šŸ™‚ I do love HDR used properly (not overbearingly…though there are times when it can be very effective used that way) so, kudos to you!

        May 16, 2012 at 5:07 pm

  4. Wow!!! This is some amazing work. The colors look brilliant here. I hope your picture made her happy. And do wish her happy mothers day on my behalf. šŸ™‚

    May 14, 2012 at 1:37 am

    • ha ha ! Thanks Irfan, I will tell her! and thanks for the comments, and I do believe several of these images made her day (she barely stopped looking at the proofs long enough to let me know which ones she wanted edited!) ….she said she wanted all the proofs and that they didnt even need editing! It feels so awesome to bring that kind of joy and happiness to someone!

      May 14, 2012 at 10:50 am

      • The best part of photography mate. Even when i go give the prints to the people that i shoot in my street photwalks, their faces light up. That itself is so rewarding for me, And keeps me going.

        May 14, 2012 at 11:19 am

  5. Great job Stan… just really want to know who chose the shoes? Was it you??? šŸ˜‰

    May 16, 2012 at 12:48 am

    • ohhhh..my dearest Robyn! My personal preference for this style of image is either a. bare feet, b. sexy high heels (mainly the ones with those delightful straps!), or c. look specific boots. This lovely lady brought her own shoes and of the ones she brought, yes, I did choose them for this shot. although, but I did manage to show off one of her bare feet! lolol…ya got me thinking though, I may need to start adding a set design and wardrobe team…hmmmm…I am ONLY a man ya know! lololol!! Thanks again Robyn, always love your comments!

      May 16, 2012 at 10:14 am

  6. šŸ˜‰ So interesting. I thought the shoes were very cool – but maybe a tad distracting too. I do like the foot that is bare even better! Yes – would imagine set design and wardrobe would be challenging for you, though it seems to me you would be terrific at it!! May have to expand some, and hire a few assistants:) Regardless it’s clear you are one talented man Stan. Sending good thoughts to you today~~ RL

    May 16, 2012 at 10:30 am

  7. Hot, hot, hot! A classic beauty in a modern shot. I’m excited to see more of this shoot.

    June 8, 2012 at 10:07 pm

    • Thank you Resa, I hope to be posting at least one or two more from this shoot very soon!

      June 9, 2012 at 12:02 am

Leave a Reply

