My Photography and Travel Blog

Location Bridal Portfolio


Did I ever mention about how much I just love the light at sunrise? Chelbie and I had just finished shooting on the beach with the rising sun over the ocean as her background and we were driving back in to civilization to grab some MUCH needed coffee..when we spotted this old boat dock jutting out into the marsh. The light was incredible, so I asked if she could just jump out and run to the end of the dock and turn around. This was the first exposure I took, she didin’t even want to put her shoes on. She is a true girl from the country and wanted to be as natural as possible in some of her images.
For everyone who believes they need all this expensive gear (now I know for some imagery, there are many items I could use to really bring a different look and feel to this image), but, i really like this capture. The only equipment I used (or just grabbed while I chased after her! lolol) was my Nikon camera nd my lens (thank goodness I still had my trusty 70-200 2.8 VR attached to the camera) I photographed this back in the summer, and I am SO looking forward to warmer weather soon.

Model: Chelbie
Location: Folly Beach, SC
Equipment used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR lens
Photographer: Stan Shillingburg http://www.stanshillingburg.com

12 responses

  1. Amazing Stan!! Such a rich, truly mesmerizing shot… and bare feet ~ a girl after my own heart. I think you said to me in one of your first comments – what can be more romantic/sexy/beautiful than a beautiful woman in bare feet on the beach?! Great work – and love that you used minimal equipment — the skill is your vision through that lens ~ Bravo. Much Love ~ R

    February 27, 2013 at 2:13 am

    • Robyn! Always such a delight to hear from you. And yes, I did say that! lolol….maybe it’s just the “country” in me, but I find I enjoy the imagery with this touch of Southern Comfort, lolol! Really enjoyed your latest post as well Dearest friend. Such an inspiration and gifted poet you are, I don’t think the Pain Shadow imagery will ever grow old! Especially when you pair them up so wonderfully with your poems. And you are too kind Robyn, my vision through the lens is already a work of art (wink), I just strive to capture them as I see them! lolol…so good to hear from you, hope you are doing well and finding some relief from the pain. Raising a glass of Merlot to ya gorgeous, never give up! and….send me a note or two anytime ya feel like freewriting or , as Led Zeppelin says..Ramble on…(sorry, its a little late, but it’s wine night!) Huge hugs to ya Robyn, stay safe, send an update or two when ya can! xo-SS

      February 27, 2013 at 2:30 am

  2. Stunning!! Evening sunlight, is a golden hour for any photographer.

    February 27, 2013 at 2:52 am

    • Much appreciated Irfan! Always glad to have you drop in and comment my friend. Hoping you and your family are safe and doing well!

      March 10, 2013 at 4:52 pm

  3. Nicely composed and great lighting! 🙂

    February 27, 2013 at 5:31 am

    • Much appreciated! Thanks so much for the visit and comment. Hope to have you visit often.

      March 10, 2013 at 4:53 pm

  4. Gorgeous, Stan! I don’t know much about cameras, but I know pretty and beauty when I see it! I’m not surprised you like sunrise, it’s a magic hour, as is sunset. I bet you like that magic hour, too! Hugs – Resa

    February 27, 2013 at 11:30 am

  5. Beautiful work as always Stan!

    February 27, 2013 at 11:26 pm

    • Michael! So glad you stopped in and commented, thank so much, and I do hope you are finding inspiration as well my friend. Spring is upon us, time to be hitting the streets and the beaches!

      March 10, 2013 at 4:55 pm

  6. Such rich colors! What a beautiful area of country!

    April 13, 2013 at 8:50 pm

Leave a Reply

