My Photography and Travel Blog

Vartyka shoot


Trying to grasp the concept of shooting Fashion…along with my glamour/ vintage style and still keep the session outside (where I love to be). The model (Kylie) was actually taking a break from the shoot when she naturally struck this pose (okay, I did call out to her, which is why she turned and looked at the camera). The wordrobe was on loan from a local designer (Vartyka, and I will be checking my spelling on this one), the jewelry was from another local designer, was also on loan to us for the shoot. The earrings are both hand made and is an original design (much better look at the wardrobe and jewelry both in color and in black and white on my website , via the image…just click on it to be taken to a larger view and also to my website). Hope you enjoy this and the other images in the gallery.

Location: Charleston, SC
Model: Kylie
Wardrobe: Vartyka Design
Hair and Make up: Paul Mitchell School,MUA Team, Charleston.
Shoot design assistant: Janea
Photographer: Stan Shillingburg

Equipment Used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 70-200 VR lens, AB400 strobe via 30 degree grid, Soft Silver Reflector.

12 responses

  1. Hot and elegant!!! Cheers Nonoy Manga

    August 29, 2012 at 9:12 pm

    • Thank you nanoy, I will let Kylie know. She was such a trooper to hang with us during the four hour shoot and still be so positive about it.

      August 29, 2012 at 9:17 pm

  2. Oh Stan, I love this. Okay I’ve always wished I could be one of your models.. However, doing Styling for you would be even more incredible. Your combination of Fashion/ Glam/Vintage is outstanding.

    August 29, 2012 at 9:24 pm

    • Just got your star on my Mom post. You rock!

      August 29, 2012 at 9:25 pm

    • Thank you so much Resa! And I am SURE we can work out a deal where you bring your amazing Styling skills to one of my shoots, and then do me the honor of photographing you as well. All things are possible, and yet we allow so few to be probable. I extend an open invitation to you if ever our paths cross my friend!
      ps: your Mom post deserves TEN stars!

      August 29, 2012 at 10:18 pm

      • Tears, love, hugs and hope. xoxoxo!

        August 29, 2012 at 10:19 pm

  3. Love the unposed – natural effect you captured by just calling Kyle’s name on a break! There is something about unposed – I’m learning! xo

    August 29, 2012 at 9:37 pm

    • Oh my dear Robyn….you are the unposed muse we photogs dream of! Combined with your stunning word play and talents….always touched deeply by each of your posts! Hugs and xo back to ya, such a delight when you visit and comment.

      August 29, 2012 at 10:22 pm

      • So sweet you are ~ much love Stan– thank you for being you! xo

        August 29, 2012 at 11:13 pm

  4. Great shot Stan, I love the high key treatment, just right I think

    August 30, 2012 at 9:48 am

    • Thank you Chris, high key was definitely my intent!

      August 30, 2012 at 11:02 am

      • Jolly good, you succeeded then 🙂

        September 2, 2012 at 4:50 am

Leave a Reply

