My Photography and Travel Blog

Fine Art Collection


Sometimes, we just see something and say to ourselves, “thats it, take the picture!”, I am not really sure why I felt that way about this image. I guess thats why our professor hands us assignments and says to just go shoot. I was standing in a parking garage for shelter from the storm, when I looked out and saw this image. The two people walking with umbrellas to keep the rain off of themselves, the strong image of the tree…it’s leaves and branches resembling the shape of the umbrellas, the lamp post and sidewalk, the heavy amounts of water on the ground, and puddles….it just said, “go ahead, take the shot”. I am hoping to come up with a name for this image, so if anyone is more connected to thier “inner artist” than I am, please send me a shout! Thanks so much for visiting!
Camera: Nikon D700
Lens: Nikkor 24-70 2.8
Camera Settings: ISO 200, f/3.5, 1/200sec. focal length: 48mm

As always, my images are copyright protected and available to you as wall art prints, wraps, and other merchadise. More info available on my “About” page. You can click on any of my images to see them in HIGH RES. Thanks for visiting! Y’all come back now, ya hear?

19 responses

  1. ckponderings

    The ‘That’s the shot’ images are often the ones that work out the best! 🙂

    August 26, 2012 at 4:41 am

  2. It a very nice composition and the black and white works very well:)

    August 26, 2012 at 4:42 am

  3. Oh my Stan…. strikingly phenomenal! You are a genius, I’ve decided. A tiny bit of schooling and you are in this crazy artistic zone like never before. I LOVE this shot!! xo

    August 26, 2012 at 11:10 am

  4. This is a beautiful shot, Stan. It’s a black and white water colour!

    August 26, 2012 at 11:22 am

  5. Great photo! I love it. Will be interested to see what name you come up with.

    August 26, 2012 at 2:17 pm

  6. Chengen

    What degree are you pursuing? This is AMAZING by the way…Feels very artsy.

    August 26, 2012 at 5:35 pm

    • Thank you Charly! I am going for my BA in photography. I am currently trying to gather some fine art images in my portfolio, so I am hoping this one will qualify!

      August 31, 2012 at 9:41 pm

  7. I love it! Very well balanced composition.

    August 26, 2012 at 11:45 pm

  8. A great shot Stan. My photo lecturer used to give us assignments such as photograph objects whose shapes form the letters of your initials. I guess the idea was to make us see.

    August 27, 2012 at 3:49 am

    • Thank Chris, our assignment was to ” show motion”, I was shooting some panning imagery and also doing long exposures during the rain storm. When I saw this scene, I just set up…and waited for it.

      August 31, 2012 at 9:59 pm

  9. BreOfficialBlog

    Fantastic Photograph, I really like how you made it Black and White and especially the tree. Very nice. Have a lovely and safe week. God Bless = )

    August 27, 2012 at 2:00 pm

  10. Great composition. A true work of art.

    August 31, 2012 at 8:41 pm

Leave a Reply

