My Photography and Travel Blog

Leah G in monochrome


Time for another session of ” color? or black and white?” This is more of a “fine art” edit in my opinion. I also did a color version that I am posting next. Although the poses are identical, I am going to with hold my thoughts until after I hear from all of you. So please feel free to share your thoughts! I have pretty thick skin and I am very open to criticism (constructive), however I do ask that any criticism of the model please be refrained. It takes a huge amount of courage to get in front of the camera knowing the images will be shared around the world. Thanks so much, and please let me know your thoughts! It is the only way I know of to get better at my beloved craft of photography.

Location: Columbia, SC, USA
Model: Leah G.
Equipment used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR lens, Mother Natures direct sunlight.

13 responses

  1. How could anyone ever criticize your brave and beautiful models. They are worth our praises.

    July 2, 2012 at 1:06 pm

    • It never ceases to amaze me how jeaousy can take shape Resa! I keep most of those type of negative comments blocked or I delete them. I am very proud that none of my followers have played into such cheap activity. You and many of my followers are amazing and offer true thoughts and genuine inspiration! This being a global post, just wanted to make sure and put a notice out there for my visitors and also to assure my followers that I deeply respect my models..be they lawyers, doctors, waitresses, or other professional women…they are all daughters, wives, girlfriends, etc…and above all else..people. And all people should be treated with respect, dignity, and courtesy. And with my style of photographing women…I want to make sure my stance on that is without question. Thanks so much for the comment Resa! Always a pleasure to see you.

      July 2, 2012 at 4:36 pm

  2. I looked like her 20 years ago. Wonderful shot, as always.

    July 2, 2012 at 1:22 pm

    • So glad you brought that up! And I have no doubt you were a stunner then as well! In response to others that feel they are “too old” or don’t look as good as they did XX years ago..I am launching a new project. Over the next several months, I am looking to photography “mature” women at their sexiest best. From swimwear to lingerie, implieds, etc..I had one woman (who said she was in her mid 50’s) actually stop traffic in a downtown Starbucks while wearing heels, stockings with seams in the back, form fitting skirt, and a business suit style top. So, if any of you are interested, please let me know! I aim to prove that real women rock LOTS more than they may know!

      July 2, 2012 at 4:44 pm

      • I think that is a very cool idea. They have a magazine for woman 40 & over. Its like Cosmo with Depends & botox adds. Sort of screws up your mind a bit. Yes, you are over 40, but you look like shit, here are the products you need. I hope you do it, yes the young shine, but then they shockingly age & the next round of young come to shine. My red-headed 16 year old has the body I did, before I gave birth to her. I look at her body & understand its her turn, I had mine. I will never forget it. But standing here at 42, I feel better about myself then my perfectly stunning daughter. Which is better? Photograph that confidence living life, earning those laugh lines, the extra dimples. One more thing. I am storing your 2nd sentence in a jar & take it out when I feel like crap. Thank you Stan!!!

        July 2, 2012 at 11:22 pm

  3. B&W gets my vote! I like the contrast of her fair skin against the darker background. 🙂

    July 2, 2012 at 4:39 pm

    • Thank you so much, ya KNOW that was where I was going with this …. 😉 ! So good to have you drop in, please come again often!

      July 2, 2012 at 5:38 pm

      • Uh oh! Did I beat you to the punchline? haha I’ll swing by as often as possible, promise. =)

        July 2, 2012 at 7:05 pm

  4. this one blast me to kingdom come!!!Cheers Nonoy Manga

    July 2, 2012 at 8:54 pm

  5. I definitely prefer this one! Her hair has an ethereal quality. 🙂

    July 3, 2012 at 12:11 am

  6. About the only time I prefer black & white is when the color picture is of a black & white object, such as a color picture of an old steam engine letting off some steam. Otherwise my eyes really like to see color, vibrant colors.

    July 14, 2012 at 6:17 pm

Leave a Reply

