My Photography and Travel Blog

Stills and digital artwork


And now a black and white version. Your thoughts?

Location: West Coast of Florida
Model: the lovely and talented Marlese
Equipment used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 70-200 VR 2.8, SB900 fired off camera to camera right.

As always, my images are copyright protected and available to you as wall art prints, wraps, and other merchadise. More info available on my “About” page. You can click on any of my images to see them in HIGH RES. Thanks for visiting!

16 responses

  1. I prefer the composition of this one, but the color in the other. Not that that helps much haha.

    June 7, 2012 at 12:55 pm

    • wow…thanks David! (rolling eyes..lolol), that is the challenge when photographing Marliese and the location we chose, TOO many stunning shots came out of this session! Each image was thought out, rehearsed, then shot….but to be honest, even the candid shots of here sparked the interest of several clients. So far, 138 exposures from this session and 127 “keepers” (you guessed it, the other shots where white balance test shots). Thank you so much for your input David, and I do agree with you that the lower camera position provides a much more pleasing composition. Thanks again!

      June 7, 2012 at 1:01 pm

      • Its hard when they’re all keepers. Thats a great problem to have though.

        June 7, 2012 at 1:03 pm

  2. A ton better, stunningly beautiful,sexy & natural. I want to buy her bikini, so I can look like she does!!! (FAT chance)

    June 7, 2012 at 5:07 pm

    • I am sure the bikini manufacturer would truly appreciate that! lolol..a couple of the images from this shoot were used for advertisement for the manufacturer (they are all hand knit bikinis from south Florida), and Marli (a pro model and fitness trainer) spends tons of time in the gym daily (even makes ME feel like a wimp!) And thanks so much for your input! I do feel the lower camera angle and having the model at least touching the sand and water all worked together to make this a much more appealing image. Yes, it does look much better in color, but I feel that would have distracted the viewers (here) from my intent of finding out just what image would be more appealing based on posed, camera angle, sky and horizon position. Thank you so much for your input!

      June 7, 2012 at 8:24 pm

  3. If I didn’t know better, this could be from the 1960’s.

    June 7, 2012 at 8:22 pm

    • Nostalgia, yet another fine observation Resa! The finished image is scheduled to have two versions; a “kodachrome/ technicolor” look, and a black and white version schedule to have that classic black and white “Marilyn on the beach” tone curve to it. Thanks again Resa, much appreciated.

      June 7, 2012 at 8:27 pm

  4. Much prefer the black and white version – much classier and more mystical. The color one is too over saturated which diminishes the emotional depth.

    June 7, 2012 at 11:43 pm

    • Much appreciated Renee! Your comment does raise another question…as in; at what point does color and saturation of an image become less artistic? and, do boldly saturated images have more sales appeal (or marketability) than undersaturated images? I have found that split toned, selectively desaturated and monochrome images have much more artistic appeal (to me at least) than the color or over saturated imaged. However; based on popularity of the multiple images I have featured in this blog…the images with bold and pastel colors all get more views. This could be a very good conversation with friends and collegues! Thanks so much for your comments!

      June 8, 2012 at 12:35 am

  5. I just want to be one of your models. I believe you would capture any woman in her glory, beyond what you’ve done.

    June 9, 2012 at 11:04 pm

    • Photographing you would be an honor Resa. Thank you so much for your most flattering compliments! It is such a wonderful feeling when other women appreciate work and my love for photographing them to the very best of my ability. Capturing women in thier “glory” is a most satisfying challenge and one I never take lightly. Yes, I am for hire but that is beyond my intent and scope for this blog (my webpage has the contact info), or you can email me from my “About” page. Resa, you ROCK! Thank you again.

      June 9, 2012 at 11:52 pm

  6. Black and white does it for me with this shot. The model is certainly beautiful, but the colour version seems to make it too sexual for some reason. Nice shot overall, though!

    June 12, 2012 at 12:28 pm

    • Thank you so much for your input, comments, and visit! Once again it appears that color (and or its saturation) tend to lead the viewer away from the “art” and send one down a path that is less than desireable. Thanks again for your comment!

      June 12, 2012 at 12:54 pm

      • No worries. It’s interesting to get different viewpoints from people. 🙂

        June 28, 2012 at 2:06 am

  7. Love it in black and white! Very eclectic ~ and lends a slight nostalgic touch. Be sure to check out my summer header Stan (it’s on my home page) ~ had a 7 minute photo-shoot with my husband behind the lens (no photo experience though he implants lenses as an eye doctor 🙂 Anyway – thought of you when we did it 😉 ~ Sending warm thoughts your way!

    June 14, 2012 at 1:00 am

    • Oh and almost forgot– go to the menu on top of my blog that says Pain Shadow Series… my daughter took an interesting photo of me that I used as an enhancement with quote. You might appreciate that one a lot too 😉 See – I’m such a glam model wanna-be LOL!!

      June 14, 2012 at 1:06 am

Leave a Reply

