My Photography and Travel Blog

Stills and digital artwork


Not a “finished product” yet, but I am curious to see what style is more appealing. This is a work in progress to create a look for a poster, book cover, etc…
Please share your thoughts! I will be posting another of the images from this session in black and white.

Location: West Coast of Florida
Model: the lovely and talented Marlese
Equipment used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 70-200 VR 2.8, SB900 fired off camera to camera right.

As always, my images are copyright protected and available to you as wall art prints, wraps, and other merchadise. More info available on my “About” page. You can click on any of my images to see them in HIGH RES. Thanks for visiting!

12 responses

  1. My honest response is that she is posing too much. So it’s not a photo that grabs the attention, it looks fabricated and not natural. Also, she looks like she has a headache.
    I think she was trying too hard to pose and look beautiful instead of being in beauty, many models speak about this as a huge challenge, as do singers, etc… One must be “in the song” so to speak.

    June 7, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    • Thank you so very much for your honest input Genie, truly appreciated. And your points are the very reason why I struggle to keep the camera “ready to shoot” during all of my photoshoots. Many models and in particularly women, are the most beautiful when relaxed and not “posing” for the camera. All that being said, the client asked for a couple of poses to follow a theme and this is but one of them. I will be posting a candid of Marli shortly to assist us in illustrating that exact point! Thank you so much for your honest comment and input, greatly appreciated!

      June 7, 2012 at 1:06 pm

  2. You know how much I adore your model shots. Organic and outstanding!

    June 7, 2012 at 3:56 pm

  3. Great shot Stan. As a standalone image it works great for me just wonder if a bit more sky would be better for a cover etc.

    June 7, 2012 at 4:34 pm

    • Chris, as usual my friend you are spot on with my arguement. I thought the same which I also shot. By lowering my POV in a later image, I did accomplish just that. very good eye and thank you so much for your comment!

      June 7, 2012 at 8:04 pm

      • Thanks Stan, great minds Eh? Also Love the lighting, great use of off camera flash

        June 8, 2012 at 12:42 am

  4. A woman is soft. No woman would feel sexy or look natural sitting on shape boulders. I feel sorry for her. If this was for an advert. Women looking to buy a bikini want to look like the model. Contrast- a women on a smooth round rock. It is an incredible photograph though.

    June 7, 2012 at 5:01 pm

  5. Damn, sharp rocks. Oy.

    June 7, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    • lolol…very valid point! The idea from my vision was to have the model on the sand and have the jagged rocks and deep blue sky behind her. I did manage to accomplish this in a later image and your observations and comments are greatly appreciated! I will be taking all of this input to the client for thier final decision on the image selection. Thank you so much for your comments and input.

      June 7, 2012 at 8:07 pm

  6. asf73

    The contrast of the very blue sky and the wet,textured rocks is very nice Stan. I like the contradiction between the very jagged,hard rocks against the very soft and curvy model, nice concept Stan. The only observation I have is regarding the curvy, wavy line that I’m calling the horizon line, to me it’s not level or straight and it throws me off. I want to concentrate on the subject and her surroundings but the horizon line just throws the picture off for me.
    I would love to hear your thought’s Stan.

    June 7, 2012 at 6:27 pm

    • I just cannot sneek a THING past you Angel! lolol…very keen observation my friend. The truth is, there was another photoshoot going on in the background. Not wanting to waste time until they finished, I decided to fire off a few practice images. I photoshopped the model, photographer, lights, and light stand out of this image. In my rush to get an image up for getting feedback on the overall “look” of the image, I neglected to go back and put the horizon back in line. Great catch! Thanks so much, and you are absolutely spot on. The horizon line should never detract from the main subject! If you check out the black and white shot you will find I did remember to correct that horizon line! Thanks Angel, your comments are always welcomed and appreciated!

      June 7, 2012 at 8:14 pm

Leave a Reply

