My Photography and Travel Blog

Stills and digital artwork


Light after sunset (about 2 minutes after)
Gorgeous scenery after sunset in Key West, FL, USA

Equipment used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 50mm 1.8 lens, Induro CT213tripod, Induro BHD2 ballhead

As always, my images are copyright protected and available to you as wall art prints, wraps, and other merchadise. More info available on my “About” page. You can click on any of my images to see them in HIGH RES. Thanks for visiting!

18 responses

  1. Sensational. I’m having an epiphany.

    June 6, 2012 at 3:45 pm

  2. Beautiful shot Stan! The lighting is superb!
    How do you like the Induro tripod and head? I have been thinking about upgrading my Bogen equipment to Induro. It would be great to go to something a little lighter but still very sturdy.

    June 6, 2012 at 4:19 pm

  3. Thanks Michael! And I gotta tell, I could not be happier with my Induro gear! I got mine through Adorama and got it within about 4 days (free shipping). It packs up really tight and works great for my hikes! Good luck and yes, I do recommend the Induro gear.

    June 6, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  4. Really, really, really love this pastel image

    June 6, 2012 at 4:39 pm

  5. Love the soft, pastel tones Stan

    June 6, 2012 at 4:42 pm

    • Thanks Chris, doing my best to the images and editing up to speed.

      June 6, 2012 at 7:15 pm

  6. That makes me smile like ice cream does.

    June 6, 2012 at 11:28 pm

    • Then I now know I have “hit the mark” in my imagery! Thank you So much!

      June 7, 2012 at 12:16 am

  7. Looks luminescent. Is this single exposure or is it a hdr shot?

    June 6, 2012 at 11:48 pm

    • This is a single exposure my friend. I had to run this through some tonal work, levels and curves, then reduce some saturation. I tried tonemapping and even created several exposures for some hdr effect but was not happy with either of those outcomes to show the emotion I was feeling during this shot. So, back to lightroom and started back over with the pure RAW file to bring back the vision I had for this shot. Wonderful to have you back commenting Irfan, and I am now able to follow your blog as well.

      June 7, 2012 at 12:20 am

      • That is good effort coming to fruition. If you ask me, a good picture is the one which conveys the exact message to the audience which the creator has in mind, You’ve nailed it here my friend.
        Good to know that you can follow my blog. 😀 It’s kinda lonely in .org. I think It’ll take a while. It’s like starting from scratch all over again.

        June 7, 2012 at 12:27 am

      • I had been asked to post a conversion of this image to black and white so, after another trip through levels and some white balance adjustments, I am about to post the final monochrome version. The client wants to use this for wall art in a couple of hotels. Please take a look and give me your thoughts, I admire your black and white work for the detail and contrast work you do. My final version on this one is very “soft” and it is my intent, but would greatly appreciate your input.

        June 7, 2012 at 12:36 am

      • I just an email your way.

        June 7, 2012 at 1:12 am

  8. Photecstasy

    O.M.G.! Nothing else that can be said… just warm, relaxing… I want to sail away!

    June 12, 2012 at 10:52 pm

    • You are so very kind, and thank you! The feeling you describe is exactly what I was aiming for.

      June 12, 2012 at 11:26 pm

Leave a Reply

