My Photography and Travel Blog

Post Cards From the Road


Sunset over Key West – Filtered
Filtering helps photographers bring out colors, remove distractors, focus on and highlight the main subject, and make an image more appealing and the subject more “attractive”.
When filters are applied to life…you can do the same thing: filter out the bad stuff, while enriching, highlighting, and making your views…more “attractive”.
Again, know what filters to apply, when to apply them, and to what degree to apply them…is a recipie only you can create and..”season to your own taste” (sly grin to Smidge!) Seeing things in this way may not change the harsh realities of life, but they might just add just the right amount joy and happiness to keep those cruel shadows of reality at bay (wink out to RL!). Just as we choose the best clothes and accessories to complement those moments of life we deem important for us to “look our best” (Yeah Resa, you do WONDERS for those actors!) and bring out those splendid hints and twists in a novel ( Jill, gotta throw a Kudo out to ya, Author extrordonnaire!), and finally..we are so very careful to choose only the most exact words for our poems (Dean J. and Mari..wow guys…wow!). Maybe if we apply the same zeal in how we “see” things, people, places around us…Life could get just a little bit easier for us all. I know for fact…I would not be as happy and as joyful as I am today, were it not for learning to see things in a different light. And, I know that ALL these things are possible…with a little help from our firends! Thank you so much to ALL of my friends, followers, and guests, for helping get this far in my blogging and my photography.Each of you play a part in my passion and motivation to get out there and bring back the very best I can for you guys to enjoy!
And …Sometimes…I get to see things a little bit more clearly and beautifully myself. Learning to see with your soul….can become a passion! Stay safe out there everyone! Until next time …write it, photograph it, tell it, cook/ bake it…live it…from the soul, with passion! Oh, and Tracie…can ya pass that rum back over here? I hope your spending some time out there on the front of that sailboat…riding happy and free in your sea of inspiration and amazing imagery!

As always, my images are copyright protected and available to you as wall art prints, wraps, and other merchadise. More info available on my “About” page. You can click on any of my images to see them in HIGH RES. Thanks for visiting!

6 responses

  1. Hi, Stan. I just had to comment about your last two posts. You’ve beautifully illustrated some profound concepts – seeing life for what it is and then using filters to focus on what is important to us. Did you know that psychological research has demonstrated that people who can do this effectively are happier and report less stress in their lives. Thanks for the lovely reminder! 🙂

    June 3, 2012 at 11:38 pm

    • Hi Stephany! And thanks so much for the comment! As far as my knowledge of the study..well, let me just say I like to think I am living proof of it. I am so truly honored and thankful to you for sharing your comments and kind words! It is always a lovely treat when you visit. Stay safe and I do hope you return and comment often. I will be bringing more images soon to compliment this series in the next couple of weeks.

      June 4, 2012 at 12:02 am

  2. Stunning & a little green with envy

    June 4, 2012 at 10:49 pm

  3. Beautiful picture. I’ve never been to Key West but would love to go someday. Thanks so much for the shout out. 🙂
    Love your filter metaphor. In her younger years, people used to always accuse my mother of seeing the world through rose colored glasses. And she was always like, “So what if I do?” 😀
    I’ve really enjoyed your Post Cards from the Road series and look forward to more images.

    June 5, 2012 at 10:34 pm

    • Thanks Jill, I am so very glad you have enjoyed the seiries. And your mom appears to have understated the fact that she had learned to control what affected her instead of allowing anything and everything to come in and complicate her life. Selectively focusing on the things she chose seems to keep all of the trivial things at bay or at least in perspective. I have found that for me at least, my time is better spent dealing with things I can affect instead of worrying about things I have no control over. Let em know if you guys are looking for some info on Key West! I do go there often and would love to send you a few sugestions and recommendations. Oh, and if you guys fly in to Key West, watch out for the Eagle..he seems to be THE Air Traffic Controller down there! lololol…

      June 5, 2012 at 10:47 pm

Leave a Reply

