My Photography and Travel Blog

Travel


Sometimes,
there is nothing better for a soul than a good road trip. There is just no real way to decribe the feeling when you end up taking the long way around, on a back road…a road less traveled. The kind of journey that allows you the chance to slow down, to smell the honey suckle on the vine…and to actually see…smell, taste, touch, enjoy…the life you are living.
Sometimes,
We fail to stop or pause in our paths of life. We pass by each other at a blinding speed, blurring our visions, distorting our perspectives, the small miracles of life flash by us…barely noticed if at all.
Sometimes,
We should listen to our souls. Treat ourselves to some old fashioned goodness. Spend a moment with Father time, Mother Nature, Sister Peace, and Brother Happiness.

I know this post is not my usual manner…I will be back to pure imagery soon…but for now my friends, my soul…needs some time. Have an awesome weekend! And if your on the East Coast , watch out..I am heading for a sunrise over the ocean with a hot cup of coffee and a sunset glowing in that magical golden light.

19 responses

  1. Love your shot , Brilliantly taken! =)

    June 2, 2012 at 12:19 am

    • Thanks so much! Now if only I can continue to bring such amazing friends and compliments back for more! Stay safe, and thanks again!

      June 3, 2012 at 10:22 pm

  2. Shutterbug Sage

    Gorgeous pic and sentiment. I love a road trip!

    June 2, 2012 at 12:19 am

    • Thank you Shutterbug! truly appreciate the kind words and visit, hope it inspires you to visit often!

      June 3, 2012 at 10:20 pm

      • Shutterbug Sage

        Oh, it does! I read all of your posts. Not always each day, but definitely eventually! 🙂

        June 3, 2012 at 10:47 pm

  3. Lovely words that go well with the the pic. Too bad you can’t turn your camera inward and take a picture of your soul. I know it would be an awesome image.

    June 2, 2012 at 9:48 am

    • Resa! Thank you so much, your such a wonderful ray of sunshine!

      June 3, 2012 at 10:19 pm

  4. I do love your “pure imagery” posts, but this was so well written. I couldn’t agree more. Where was this taken? The Blue Ridge Parkway? Skyline Drive? We’re taking another road trip via those routes later this summer and I can’t wait! This image sums up what’s so awesome about the open road!! When we pull off the interstate and hit the scenic routes, I make my kids turn off all their electronic gadgets and we open all the windows and stop at nearly every observation point. It takes forever, but it’s worth it! Have a great weekend. Enjoy your beach time!

    June 2, 2012 at 9:56 am

    • Thank you Jill! This was “somewhere” on the Blue Ridge Parkway. I will definitely go back over my notes and get the location to you. The only place I remember is “Kobbly Knob”…lolol..can’t get that outta my head! lolol

      June 3, 2012 at 10:17 pm

  5. Fabulous photo – such vibrant colours.
    Fabulous words – insightful and inspiring 🙂

    June 2, 2012 at 3:17 pm

    • Deeply appreciated! Hope to continue to bring these words and photos for all of you!

      June 3, 2012 at 10:15 pm

  6. I love being out on the road, exploring.

    June 2, 2012 at 7:15 pm

    • It does get delightfully addictive my friend, thanks for the comment David.

      June 3, 2012 at 10:13 pm

  7. I completely agree with your first sentence. I love road trips. And this is a great photograph.

    June 2, 2012 at 8:07 pm

    • Thank you Victoria, they are so good for the soul aren’t they!

      June 3, 2012 at 10:13 pm

      • Oh yes. I did 3 cross-country road trips in 2010 and wiped myself out, so now I’m taking a break. But they really are wonderful.

        June 4, 2012 at 11:39 am

  8. Thank you for this post. It made my heart sing. Our souls need to rest every once in awhile. Enjoy!

    June 2, 2012 at 11:50 pm

    • My pleasure! And you are so very welcome! Hope many more of my posts will inspire you to toss more lovely compliments my way!

      June 3, 2012 at 10:11 pm

      • There’s no shortage on compliments 🙂 I’ve enjoyed your blog. I will be back to say hi!

        June 4, 2012 at 12:06 am

Leave a Reply

