My Photography and Travel Blog

Model Portfolio


Calypso…aka: Abigail
I had an idea, but I did not have the photoshop skills to do this right. The only photoshop here is turning everything except Abigail to black and white. Everything in the image was really there…even the outer rain bands of a hurcaine due to make landfall late the next day somewhere along the East Coast.
This was a mad scene trying to get this shot, very dark skies, lots of movement in the scene, even with fill flash (off camera) the shutter speed needed to be at 1/60th of a sec. Abigail did her best to make my vision come to life, maybe one day I will finally have the skills to do her justice for all her hard work and dedication! As for now, I hope you enjoy the image…and yes, I am actually going to college next month to learn how this kind of image needs to be accomplished (including photoshop)! lolol…
Model: Abigail
Location: Folly Beach, SC, USA
Equipment used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR lens, one SB9– off camera flash with dome diffuser, a shower cap and a towel to keep the camera and flash as dry as possible in the seaspray and incredible humidily and allllll of the wind!

19 responses

  1. khushboopandey22

    Nice… in fact very good… I donno much about Photography … but I like the Photo… nice efforts…

    May 17, 2012 at 3:13 pm

    • Thank you so very much, your kind words are deeply appreciated! As well as your visit and your time.

      May 17, 2012 at 3:19 pm

      • khushboopandey22

        You deserve the words… πŸ™‚

        May 17, 2012 at 3:21 pm

  2. Great shot Stan, if this is poor photoshop skills I cant wait to see what you achieve with a little tuition

    May 17, 2012 at 5:32 pm

    • lolol..wow, thanks so much Chris (I can’t wait either! SO ready to get my education on!), your comments are so greatly appreciated my friend.

      May 17, 2012 at 10:12 pm

      • I read a post about sharing that basically said “I share because I want to inspire others and be inspired by others” It’s a great philosophy and I am inspired by many great togs I have met online, including your good self Stan

        May 18, 2012 at 2:11 am

  3. Pretty nice image, I must say. I like the concept of her being so calm in the midst of a storm. All the best with college. With hard work, I’m sure you’ll achieve all your goals πŸ™‚

    May 17, 2012 at 6:05 pm

    • Thank you! I am going to try my best to be “that guy” everyone call when they absolutely have to have…THE SHOT. Thank you so much for commenting, every comment really helps me get a lil bit closer to where I want to be.

      May 17, 2012 at 10:14 pm

  4. Your model shots are all so fabulous.

    May 18, 2012 at 10:20 am

  5. Joe

    Stan:

    So you’re going to college for photography? I hope that you teach the professor how you got that shot- it’s inspiring! Too bad that we don’t have hurricanes and beaches like that here in Indiana, although we do have torndaoes. Would Abigail be willing to travel? lol j/k.

    Keep up the great work. I really enjoy reading your blog and seeing your work.

    Joe

    May 19, 2012 at 12:15 pm

    • Joe:
      You are WAY too kind sir! And thank you so very much for your kind words. I will surely relay how I got that shot to my professor! The rest of the story is, I had to hand hold my D700 with the 70-200 lens and take the shot with on hand, hold an off camera flash in my other hand while dirsting the model and keeping an eye out for large waves which could knock her off of the wooden log she was setting on. VERY challenging shot! lololol…thanks again for your kind words! Stay safe and please do visit (and comment) often.
      Stan

      May 19, 2012 at 9:01 pm

      • Joe

        Stan:

        You could have done what I usually do- set up a speedlight with an umbrella and let it blow around until it hits you in the head.

        I follow both of your blogs, and I must admit that you’re motivating me to get up off my duff and start shooting again. Thanks for the inspiration- hopefully I’ll be posting images of my own soon.

        Have a good weekend!
        Joe

        May 19, 2012 at 9:27 pm

  6. Photecstasy

    Stan, this is fantastic! Gorgeous work! I clicked on the image & realized you were connected to SmugMug. How the heck did you get that to work? I need to do that… I have no clue how! I know I can link the two, but have never spent the time learning….

    May 20, 2012 at 10:33 pm

  7. Please let me know if you have any challenges now and I will get back to the books with ya!

    May 21, 2012 at 11:55 am

  8. This is a magical capture Stan. Can’t imagine what you will be able to do after you go to college πŸ˜‰ Really truly this one is a gem!

    May 24, 2012 at 11:57 pm

    • Thanks Robyn! oh.., and ask the shadows (she knows!)….I am a lil Submersed….in an image, Thanks so much for the post and the comment ;)!

      May 25, 2012 at 1:01 am

      • Really love this shot. Belongs in a screenplay or something exotic … James Bond movie? Not sure but it’s surreal. Will consult with my shadow friend to find out!! xo

        May 25, 2012 at 1:18 am

Leave a Reply

