My Photography and Travel Blog

Model Portfolio


This young wife wanted to create some images with jeans, she states were inspired by Mrs. Rob Zombie in “House of 1,000 corpses”. Yes, the shoot went very well…except for the constant interruptions of several young men (and a few women), who wanted to know if they could hold the reflector or the strobe and help out with the shoot…..well, what were my crew members there for?? lolol…I guess I should consider adding a security team for some of my photoshoots.
I almost posted this in color, but I really feel the black and white version is quite impactful enough. I guess to really get the full impact of this session, you would of had to have been on the set with the music going, and as this was during October (yep, she was getting ready for the Halloween party week) you would have seen Vampirella holding the reflector, the Batman holding down the softbox and strobe, and A she zombie on make up and hair…And as this was also being shot on location near the river with huge rocks, boulders, dead trees and shadowed trails….it was quite the Rocky Horror Show (tongue in cheek). Well..it was suppose to be a fun shoot, vampires and batman, robin, wonder woman, a werewolf, heck, I even think Superman was there somewhere….lolol..it was fun though.
On the photography side…I know I cut off her head…grabbed this shot as I was falling backward (tripped over a zombie onlooker), but I still like the image!

Location: Columbia, SC
Model: Tara…
Equipment used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 70-200 2.8 VR lens, off camera reflector (camera right), one SB900 shot through a hand held small softbox (camera left), setting sunlight from in front of the model.

19 responses

  1. Chengen

    Love this and yes, I’m always open for tips about skin tones, smoothing, etc! Thank you! Can you send emails to my gmail via Word Press? I’m new to blogging too!

    April 16, 2012 at 1:48 am

  2. Very nicely done.

    April 16, 2012 at 2:30 am

    • Thank you, shooting beauty comes natural…that statement holds true for me AND the subjects I photograph. Your complement is greatly appreciated!

      April 16, 2012 at 2:41 am

  3. Ed

    Excellent shot, the B&W really sets it off. I’m more of a wildlife/landscape shooter but portraits are something I’d like to give a try one day..:-)

    April 16, 2012 at 6:19 am

    • Thanks Ed, they say that variety is the spice of life. So, thats exactly what I am hoping to do to my photography, diverse yet skillful, thoughtful, and fun. Best of luck, and thanks for the comment!

      April 16, 2012 at 11:53 am

  4. Well done!! What a fun time it must have been!

    April 16, 2012 at 3:55 pm

    • Thanks Smidge! some of us had more fun than others…lololol..

      April 16, 2012 at 5:46 pm

  5. I had a tush like that once. Thank for the painful reminder that time stops for no one. Stunning shot.

    April 16, 2012 at 5:38 pm

    • lolol….thanks for the compliments and the reminder….I used to have a abs, now I have…well, time stops for no one 😉

      April 16, 2012 at 5:42 pm

  6. Sounds like a really fun shoot. I’ll bet your client was happy. It’s a striking shot. Love the B&W.

    April 18, 2012 at 8:20 pm

    • Thank you so much Jill! And that goes both for kind comments, and for your visit. Yes, it was fun…challenging at times…lolol..but fun. And also yes, my client (and her husband) were quite tickled with the images from the shoot!

      April 18, 2012 at 10:14 pm

  7. This is a great photo! I personally like the composition, with the top of her head cut off. More artsy and dramatic…which is what a model like this deserves. I’m sure they were very happy!

    April 21, 2012 at 4:49 pm

  8. She’s beautiful and I do like that you used black and white. Her shape is so nice that it is a great canvas for all those lovely textures. Great photography!

    April 22, 2012 at 7:17 am

  9. That is stunning! Model aside, though she does have a gorgeous figure, everything about this picture is visually attractive! I love images that give the impression of a story, and this has my brain going a mile a minute! Well done!!

    April 22, 2012 at 11:43 am

    • you are far too kind, thank you!! Please visit and comment often! your input, compliments, and ispiration are deeply appreciated.

      April 22, 2012 at 11:53 am

  10. You’re right, this shot looks great as a black and white! And thanks for visiting!

    April 25, 2012 at 8:49 pm

Leave a Reply

