My Photography and Travel Blog

Landscapes and Seascapes


Tequila Sunrise in Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Yet another gorgeous sunrise, and here we are..me, the camera, the equipment, sun, sea, and surf, even the birds. But alas, the model has overslept and this gorgeous light…will be enjoyed by me and birds, and now you! I did not intent to be shooting seascapes and was prepared to start shoot the very second the model arrived…so the equipment section below will indicate I am NOT prepared to capture this gorgeous glimpse of the sun as it peeks over the horizon, but I do hope you like the image.

Location: Myrtle Beach, SC, USA
Equipment used: Nikon D300, Nikkor 85mm 1.8 prime lens, no filters, no tripod, just hand help point, frame, meter, and shoot. ISO 200, f/5, 1/100sec.
As always, your support with purchasing prints, wall art, mouse pads, coffee cups, key chains…almost anything helps! See more info and the discount code on my “About” page. Thanks for visiting, commenting, and clicking the LIKE button!

25 responses

  1. The colors are awesome, and the fact that the bird made its way into the corner is just perfect.

    April 16, 2012 at 2:28 am

    • Thanks! That lil’ guy was a camera hog too…a couple more images (featuring him) will be uploaded soon..thanks for the comment!

      April 16, 2012 at 2:35 am

  2. This one caught my eye as soon as I saw it. It is just lovely.

    April 16, 2012 at 2:29 am

  3. Wow, I lived near the beach almost all my life but I’ve never gotten up early enough to see sunrise over the ocean… I think I should start! Gorgeous – especially with the lil seagull in the corner!

    April 16, 2012 at 2:56 am

    • It is quite the experience, and for me…I just can’t seem to get tired of watching and photographing them!

      April 16, 2012 at 3:03 am

  4. musicaffection

    Beautiful! I love the Carolina’s and being land locked in the midwest, this makes me want to plan a week on the beach!

    April 16, 2012 at 9:21 am

    • Thank you! I just love the beach, the sand, salty air, sea spray, everything!

      April 16, 2012 at 11:55 am

  5. asf73

    The horizon line alone is worth the price of admission Stan but the added colors are just to much to take.

    April 16, 2012 at 4:35 pm

  6. Wonderful colors. 🙂

    April 16, 2012 at 4:37 pm

  7. Looks like candy!

    April 16, 2012 at 5:42 pm

    • Eye Candy! Oh, you meant this image..lolol…thanks, the colors are crazy gorgeous to me…thats why I am out there at sunrise so often, my favorite time for shooting.

      April 16, 2012 at 5:50 pm

      • I suppose it is eye candy. It is stunning!

        April 16, 2012 at 6:58 pm

  8. Oh wow! This is gorgeous!!!

    April 16, 2012 at 11:01 pm

    • Thanks so much Ayasonice! A couple more to come, thank you for the visit and the kind words!

      April 16, 2012 at 11:06 pm

      • My pleasure! I will be back for more soon 🙂

        April 16, 2012 at 11:07 pm

  9. All of the colors!!

    April 18, 2012 at 11:48 am

    • Intoxicating….I do so love to admire the many colors of dawn and sunset. Thanks for the comments and the visits! Please come back often.

      April 18, 2012 at 12:36 pm

      • I will certainly! I really appreciate good photography!

        April 18, 2012 at 1:19 pm

  10. Nice

    April 18, 2012 at 3:28 pm

  11. timelesslady

    Gorgeous photograph. Myrtle Beach is a favorite destination of my parents…now I see why. Amazing.

    April 22, 2012 at 11:33 am

    • Thanks a million! And I have to agree, it is so very gorgeous here…especially at dawn and sunset.

      April 22, 2012 at 11:43 am

Leave a Reply

