My Photography and Travel Blog

Landscapes and Seascapes


Purple Haze – as this weekend rushes up to meet us, I would like to wish everyone an awesome, safe, and happy weekend! Also, a special announcement: This weekend will be my LAST weeekend of Active Federal Service. I will be signing out of the military onto my retirement leave next week! yay! As you all know, this means I will be moving…eww…packing and wrapping and sorting and ..well, you know what all has to be done! As a result, my blog entries may slow down for a couple of days until I can get my office set back up at home.
For now, this image has been extremely successful on my purchasing website so I hope all of you enjoy the color filter and the article. It just goes to prove that I have been around a while, and that I do love me some Jimmy Hendrix classic rock! Though one of my favorite tunes is Voodoo Child, I have not yet obtained a shot that I feel would accurately reflect that one. So, I will leave you with a portion of the lyrics;
“I am standing next to a mountain. chop it down, with the edge of my hand. well I can pick up all the pieces, might even make an island, might even..Raise a lil sand!” Happy weekend everyone!

Location: Edisto Island, SC, USA
Equipment used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 24-70 2.8 lens, Iduro CT213 tripod, Indro BHD2 ballhead, and a purple sky filter.

As always, your support is grealy appreciated! If your interested in supporting my bringing these images back here for your viewing pleasure, please see my “About” page for the info and the discout code.

19 responses

  1. Cool shot Stan, I hope the move goes well. I got a similar effect last year by varying the colour temp on the camera.

    April 13, 2012 at 4:22 pm

    • Thanks Chris! Good to hear from someone who also worked back in the film days. I heading back down that road very soon, and back to my Agfha black and white work. Really getting excited about diving back in to my photography full time. Thanks for the visit, like, and comment!

      April 13, 2012 at 4:29 pm

      • I was never too into the darkroom side which is one of the reasons I liked Transparencies

        April 13, 2012 at 4:31 pm

  2. Amazing photo!

    April 13, 2012 at 4:30 pm

  3. Beautiful shot. Love the way it turned out with that filter.

    April 13, 2012 at 7:16 pm

    • Thank you. I can honestly say it was a pleasant surprise to mee too.

      April 13, 2012 at 11:05 pm

  4. A+JOB. Thanks for sharing Nonoy Manga

    April 13, 2012 at 7:57 pm

  5. Good luck and have a safe move! I’m sure once it’s done it will feel great to have turned over a new chapter in your life! I can see why this one was a big seller, it’s gorgeous!

    April 13, 2012 at 10:15 pm

  6. This caught me eye very quickly, love it.

    April 14, 2012 at 3:54 pm

  7. With or without the purple filter, I do like this image.

    April 14, 2012 at 5:02 pm

    • Much appreciated, your work is awesome…still trying to find just the right one to comment on!

      April 14, 2012 at 5:20 pm

  8. Tia

    Since I don’t have the artistic touch of a photographer I greatly appreciate the work of others. This is beautiful and does represent Hendrix quite well.

    April 14, 2012 at 8:18 pm

  9. Nice…

    April 17, 2012 at 2:49 pm

Leave a Reply

