My Photography and Travel Blog

Landscapes and Seascapes


Full view of the amazing and beautiful Triple Falls found in the Dupont State Forest of North Carolina. This is from the only vantage point on the trail (a STEEP trail), heading up to High Falls. If you have been following my blog, then up to this point you have seen several images of Triple Falls, this is the only one that shows all three levels of the falls. All of the other images were taken at the very base of these gorgeous falls and from that point, almost none of the upper levels are visible. My apologies in advance to those who know that I have over exposed the white water, but getting a proper exposure (or correct) exposure, although important), was not quite as important to me at that time. My son can attest that my only real concern was trying to catch my breath! This trail is a steep one, and we were hiking up instead of down to get this shot.
Equipment used: Nikon D700, Nikkor 25-70 2.8 lens, Induro CT213 tripod, Induro BHD2 ballhead, and a circular polarizing filter (mainly to cut down as much as possible on shutter speed).
As always, this image is available for purchase in many formats, sizes, and styles. Also as available printed on cups, mouse pads, aprons, and many other items. Please see my “About” page for more info. Your continued support greatly helps to finance me getting out there to capture these images and bring them back here for your viewing pleasure and is GREATLY appreciated!

13 responses

  1. I love it!

    April 12, 2012 at 5:51 pm

    • Thanks! Ya know how sensitive I am…scoobie snacks MUCH appreciated! lolol…

      April 12, 2012 at 5:55 pm

      • 🙂

        April 12, 2012 at 8:20 pm

  2. That’s what I’m talking about! I love DuPont. I can’t wait to see more. This is fantastic! (And you’re right, that trail is pretty steep, especially with your equipment!)

    April 12, 2012 at 7:27 pm

    • Thanks Mandy! yeah…equipment, water, tripod, EXTRA lenses, snacks…me and the backpack….we sat on the bench….for a WHILE after taking this one! lololol

      April 12, 2012 at 7:41 pm

      • I can’t tell you how many times we’ve hiked DuPont. It’s one of my favorite places. I looked for the other photos like you suggested, and they are all gorgeous. You do a really great job.

        April 12, 2012 at 7:42 pm

  3. Goodness, this spirals my mind to contentment : )

    April 12, 2012 at 9:36 pm

  4. I really like how the water seems to glow…like liquid silver. I don’t know anything about photography, but if overexposure did that, it works!

    April 13, 2012 at 3:22 am

    • Thank you Shelley! And in the end, that’s all that matters. It is said that beauty is in the eye of the beholder, thanks for your visit and your comment! truly appreciated.

      April 13, 2012 at 9:54 am

  5. This one also is stunning

    April 15, 2012 at 11:31 am

    • Thank you so much! Truly enjoyed my visit to your blog as well.

      April 15, 2012 at 12:19 pm

      • dacodac, à bientot, see you soon

        April 15, 2012 at 12:25 pm

Leave a Reply

